Randy Glick - Executive DirectorThis year’s Annual Scientific Assembly was a huge success, but we really need to see more of you there! St. Petersburg, Florida and the The Vinoy® Renaissance St. Petersburg Resort & Golf Club were absolutely beautiful and the weather could not have been better. We heard from excellent speakers on topics such as domestic violence, medical marijuana, ICU liberation, breast cancer, and concussion management, to name just a few. In addition, Saturday morning featured poster presenters and oral abstract presentations. Be sure to visit these photos and highlights of the meeting!

SMA’s 2016-2017 President Dr. Ajoy Kumar installed Dr. Donald DiPette as the 113th President of SMA. Dr. David Avery was elevated to President-Elect and Dr. Philip Hartman, who ran unopposed, was recognized as President-Elect Designate.

The SMA Alliance (SMAA) was also very active during the meeting. Mrs. Elaine Hale, the 2016-2017 Alliance President installed Mrs. Kathy Murray as the 93rd SMAA President. The Alliance will be meeting at the first of the year at the SMA home office to begin developing a new long-term strategic plan to further align SMA and SMAA.

The Members in attendance left a historic mark on the Association by overwhelmingly approving the new Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws. These documents can be found in your Member Dashboard on SMA.org. The changes were designed to remove barriers and to make it easier for members to serve in leadership roles within the SMA. This is a very exciting time to be involved with the organization!

If you didn’t make it this year, please contact me and tell me how we could have helped make attending more convenient and more desirable. It's very important to the health and wellness of  medical professionals to get some traditional facetime, to recharge, and to reconnect with colleagues. There is no better place than the Annual Scientific Assembly to do just that.

Our new Board of Directors will be meeting in a few weeks to discuss ways to make attending more affordable as well as more fun … we like fun! Your thoughts and feedback are much needed to help make the next Annual Scientific Assembly one you simply can’t miss!

I am already looking forward to next year! Be sure to save the date for 2018: October 31 - November 1, 2018 Charleston, South Carolina!

Randy Glick
Executive Director

2017 Medical Summit in St. Petersburg, FL

Presidential Installation

MED17 - President & Past President

Ajoy Kumar, MD, FAAFP, receives award for Outstanding Service as President of the Southern Medical Association (left)

Southern Medical Association Leadership (below)
David W. Avery, MD - President Elect
Donald DiPette, MD, FACP, FAHA - President
Ben M. Carmichael, MD, FACC - Past President (2015 - 2016)
Ajoy Kumar, MD, FAAFP - Immediate Past President (2016 - 2017)

Donald DiPette, MD, FACP, FAHA, Presidential Installation Speech (right)

MED17 - Leadership
MED17 - Presidential-Installation

2017 Oral Abstract Presentation Award Winners

MED17 Oral Abstract Presentations - 1st Place

Douglas M. Bennion, PhD

Combating Stroke Using the Nose to Brain Highway: Treatment With Intranasal Trans-Olfactory Angiotension Type 2 Receptor Agonist After Ischemic Stroke is Neuroprotective

MED17 Oral Abstract Presentations - 2nd Place

Christopher D. Jackson, MD

Shake it Off: A Curious Case of the Rigors

MED17 Oral Abstract Presentations - 3rd Place

Obadah Aqtash, MD

Inappropriate Testing for Clostridium Difficile (C-Diff) Infection for Hospitalized Patients, A Closer Look

2017 Scientific Poster Award Winners

MED17 Poster 1stPlace

Amanda Copenhaver, BS
1st Place

Educational intervention enhances clinician awareness of Christian, Jewish, and Islamic teachings around end of life care.

MED17 Poster-2nd Place

Eduardo Moreno, MD, PGY2 Resident

A Paralyzing Cough: Rare Case of Spontaneous Spinal Epidural Hemetoma (SSEH)

Donald DiPette, MD, FACP, FAHA (President) and Randall E. Glick, BSB/PM MCP (Executive Director) congratulate the scientific poster award winners (below)

2017 Scientific Poster Award Winners
MED17 Poster-3rd Place

Masi Javeed, BS, Medical Student
Place (tie)

Systemic Prolactinoma Masquerading as Metastatic Disease

MED17 Poster-3rd Place

Meghana Totapally, Student
Place (tie)

Urinary Tract Infections in Hospitalized Infants with RSV Bronchiolitis

Society of 1906 Scholarship Award Winner

Daniel Peters, Medical Student
University of South Carolina School of Medicine

1906 Society Scholarship Award Winner - aniel Peters

Leave a Reply

SMA Menu