SMA is pleased to announce the appointment of Philip Hartman, MD, Lee H. Rogers, MD, Tomás P. Owens, Jr., MD, and Christopher R. Morris, MD, as Councilors for Kentucky, Mississippi, Oklahoma and Tennessee, respectively.  Drs. Hartman, Rogers, Owens and Morris assumed office following the SMA Annual Scientific Assembly in Destin, Florida, October 30 -November 1, 2014.

Dr. Hartman graduated residency in June of 2014, with his ambition to bring as much to the SMA as he will undoubtedly learn. Most of his prior engagements were on smaller scales. He has served in leadership positions on the residency recruitment committee and his hospital system’s critical care committee. Through residency, he was invited to give procedure workshops, lectures on family medicine, and lectures on sports medicine each year by the nearby University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. Dr. Hartman thoroughly enjoyed teaching medical students and other residents. As new technology entered his office and hospital, he made every effort to integrate it in a way that turned it from frustration to a valued tool. What Dr. Hartman lacks in experience shared by most members of the SMA Council, he hopes to make up by offering a different viewpoint to help better meet the needs of newer physicians, bolster their desire to join and participate in SMA, and help SMA as an organization in its continued evolution alongside our ever evolving field. At the same time, he hopes to gain the knowledge it takes to be involved in the leadership of organized medicine throughout the rest of his career.

Dr. Rogers has been a proud member of SMA since 1988 (24 years) and an SMA Associate Council Member since 2002 (12 years). He is a board certified ophthalmologist and has attended the SMA annual meeting every year for 24 years. He has also been very active in Mississippi State Medical Association (MSMA) where he has attended every annual meeting for 44 years. He served on the MSMA Board of Trustees as Chairman, Vice Chairman and a 6 year board member. He served on the MSMA MPAC Board for10 years (2 terms) and on the Legislative Council. He was President of the MS Eye ENT Association, President of the University of Mississippi Medical Alumni Chapter, President of the NE MS Medical Association and Secretary for 3 years. Locally, he was Chief of Staff of North MS Medical Center. Nationally he is a member of AMA, AAO as well as SMA. His community activities include President of Tupelo Rotary Club; Rotarian of the year 2008; founding Board member of the Tupelo Symphony; Tupelo Community Theater; First Methodist Church; Lee County Republican Executive Committee; BSA; PTO President.

Dr. Rogers and his wife have enjoyed traveling to all of the SMA states and to the District of Columbia, attending annual meetings, enjoying new friends and the fellowship, the great parties and memorable sight-seeing as well as the superb educational value and CME! I find it refreshing to step back from just my specialty and annually re-expose myself to all the cutting edges in medicine as a whole, its new drugs and new procedures.

Dr. Owens has been a member of SMA since 1993. He has been a Family Medicine Residency Associate Director since 1995 and Chair of Family Medicine at Integris Baptist Medical Center since 1998. He enjoys education and maintains a pro bono teaching position at the University of Oklahoma as a Clinical Medicine preceptor and proctor to 2nd, 3rd and 4th year students. He was president of the Oklahoma Academy of Family Physicians and the Oklahoma County Medical Society. Dr. Owens’ passion for academics has led to his remaining current on board-certifications in Family Medicine, Geriatric Medicine, Sports Medicine, Adolescent Medicine, Hospice and Palliative Medicine (the most by any American physician) along with an AMDA Certification. He is the Oklahoma delegate to the AAFP and is very involved with community-wide efforts as a board member at the Central Oklahoma-ITN and Integris Mental Health and Latino Community. He is hoping this experience will help him lead and promote the benefits of membership for SMA.

Dr. Morris has been involved with the SMA since 1990, when he gave his first paper at the meeting in Nashville. Since that time he has been the section secretary and chairman in Rheumatology, developing a variety of programs to provide information to members of all specialties. He also served as a chairman or co-chairman of a number of programs, including Focus on the Older patient, and a Rheumatology Update. He has lectured at a number of annual meetings and conferences sponsored by the SMA. He also served as editor of two publications for the SMA. In addition to being part of a thriving rheumatology practice in Kingsport, he has served as a mentor for both internal medicine residents and medical students at local training programs. He has also served on several committees for the American College of Rheumatology, including the Committee on Rheumatologic Care, the Regional Advisory Council, and the Committee on Communications and Marketing. Dr. Morris has moderated sessions at both ACR and SMA meetings, and has presented a number of papers at these meetings. He is currently on the board of the ACR's Rheumpac, which advocates for issues important to people with arthritic diseases, as well as the physicians who care for them. He feels the SMA is unique because it is able to bring together healthcare professionals from a wide range of specialties with the goal of imparting and sharing knowledge that will benefit patients. The multidisciplinary opportunities provide physicians an opportunity to learn outside of their specialty, and help all physicians provide the best care. He plans to work to strengthen this approach to CME. He also wants to keep the SMA on the cutting edge of CME as requirements change, to ensure that its members see the SMA as the "go-to" place for their CME.


Leave a Reply

SMA Menu