The Southern Medical Journal is pleased to announce the appointment of four new members of the Editorial Board and the advancement of one Board member to the position of Associate Editor. The appointments are effective January 1, 2012, with a three-year term for new Board members and a two- year appointment for the new Associate Editor.

Associate Editor

Dana King, MD, is Vice-Chair of the Department of Family Medicine at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, as well as the Interim Research Director for the department. He completed his residency in Family Medicine at the University of Maryland and spent several years in rural practice in North Carolina before starting an academic career at East Carolina Medical School. Dr. King joined the faculty at MUSC in 1999. His research interests center on cardiovascular health and the influence of religion and spirit on health care. Dr. King is certified by the American Board of Family Medicine.

Editorial Board

Jason N. Collins, MD, is an emergency medicine physician currently practicing in Austin, Texas. He is a graduate of the University of Texas Medical School at San Antonio, following a graduate research appointment within the Human Genome Project at the Los Alamos National Laboratory. Dr. Collins completed his emergency medicine residency at Southwestern Medical School and Parkland Hospital in Dallas, Texas. Recently, Dr. Collins completed the Leadership and Advocacy Fellowship through the Texas College of Emergency Physicians and remains active within the Texas Chapter on the state and national level. Dr. Collins is a Fellow of the American College of Emergency Physicians and is also active within that organization. He has recently accepted an appointment as an Assistant Professor at the Texas A & M School of Medicine and faculty physician at the Scott and White Clinic in Temple, Texas.

Vanessa Diaz, MD, MS, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Family Medicine at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston. She is a graduate of the University of Miami School of Medicine and completed her family medicine residency in Savannah, Georgia. Dr. Diaz joined the MUSC research division as a faculty member in 2004 after completing a two-year faculty development fellowship at MUSC that included obtaining her Master of Science in Clinical Research degree. She currently serves as the Clinical Services Director for the department. Her research interests include Latino health, diabetes, cardiovascular disease, and women's health issues. Dr. Diaz is certified by the American Board of Family Medicine.

Amy Ernst, MD, is a Professor of Emergency Medicine at the University of New Mexico School of Medicine. She is a graduate of the Tulane University School of Medicine in New Orleans, and completed her residency in emergency medicine at Louisiana State University (Charity Hospital), also in New Orleans. Previously on the faculty of both Vanderbilt University and the University of California at Davis medical schools, she joined the faculty at UNM in 2004. Her clinical research interests include intimate partner violence, the development of an ongoing violence assessment tool, elderly and childhood violence, and informed consent. Dr. Ernst also has an interest in disaster medicine, especially following hurricane Katrina. She is certified by the American Board of Emergency Medicine, and is a Fellow of the American College of Emergency Physicians.

Robert L. Oldham, MD, MS, is the Medical Director of the Department of Behavioral Health, Fresno County, California, and Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of California at San Francisco School of Medicine. He received his medical degree from the University of Alabama School of Medicine and a Master of Science degree in Health Administration from Virginia Commonwealth University, where he also completed his residencies in general psychiatry and preventive medicine/public health. He has also completed a fellowship in Psychosomatic Medicine at Oregon Health Sciences University and was a health policy fellow with the Lister Hill Center for Health Policy. He is board certified in general psychiatry, general preventive medicine/public health, psychosomatic medicine, and medical quality.

Dr. King, as an Associate Editor of the Journal, will be involved in the overall assessment of the effectiveness of the Journal activities, its scientific and medical journalistic mission, and the development of new Journal interests. Drs. Collins, Diaz, Ernst, and Oldham, as Editorial Board members, will be instrumental in the selection of quality manuscripts for publication, providing general advice to the Editor-in-Chief, and participating in the development of new issue topics. The selection and appointment of these individuals reflect their national reputation for excellence in medical journalism and in their specialties and areas of interest.

The Journal would also like to extend its appreciation to the retiring Editorial Board members who have served the Southern Medical Journal with distinction and significance. Many of these retiring members have also been authors and reviewers for the Journal, extending their influence in the successful production of quality articles for the Journal. We thank them for their service and their dedication:

  • Angus M. McBryde, Jr., MD, Associate Editor, Orthopedic Surgery, Birmingham, Alabama
  • Atul Bhardwaj, MD, Internal Medicine, Hershey, Pennsylvania
  • Jan Basile, MD, Internal Medicine, Charleston, South Carolina
  • David S.H. Bell, MD, Endocrinology, Birmingham, Alabama
  • Prakash Chandra, MD, Endocrinology, Atlanta, Georgia
  • Jun Shu, MD, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, Hefei, China

The exceptional expertise and experience of the members of the Editorial Board greatly enhances the mission and success of the Southern Medical Journal.

One thought on “New SMJ Editorial Board Members 2012

  1. Thank you to all of the new Editorial Board members. It looks to be an excellent group of talented individuals. Our Journal will be in good hands. Also, thank you for all your hard work on behalf of the SMJ to all of the SMJ Editorial Board members who are rotating off the board.
    Thanks to all for making the SMJ a respected peer reviewed journal.
    Michael C. Gosney
    President, SMA

Leave a Reply

SMA Menu