Know your new Councilors

Authors: R. C. V. Robinson M.D.


The governing body of Southern Medical Association, the Council, is comprised of one Councilor from each state or district composing the territory from which the Association draws its membership. Councilors arc appointed by the President, serve for five years and are not eligible for reappointment. Councilor terms expire with the close of annual meetings. Expiration of Councilor terms is staggered so that not more than four expire in any one year.The terms of three Councilors expired at the close of the Dallas meeting in 1961: Dr. Harry M. Robinson, Jr., Maryland; Dr. O. P. J. Folk, Missouri; and Dr. George D. Wilson, North Carolina. Dr. A. Clayton McCarty, President, announces the following appointments to fill these three vacancies: Dr. R. C. V. Robinson, Baltimore, Maryland; Dr. Clinton W. Lane, St. Louis, Missouri; and Dr. J. Leonard Goldner, Durham, North Carolina.

This content is limited to qualifying members.

Existing members, please login first.

If you have an existing account please login now to access this article or view your purchase options.

Purchase only this article ($15)

Create a free account, then purchase this article to download or access it online for 24 hours.

Purchase an SMJ online subscription ($75)

Create a free account, then purchase a subscription to get complete access to all articles for a full year.

Purchase a membership plan (fees vary)

Premium members can access all articles plus recieve many more benefits. View all membership plans and benefit packages.